What Are You Reading?

Here’s the truth of it…I wish was more “well read.”  Despite being an avid reader since I was six years old, on every list of “100 Books You Must Read Before You Die,” I’ve only read 15 books or so.  It doesn’t seem to matter which list it is. The number never improves much!

It’s discouraging…despite having read everything from Tolstoy to P.D. James, from J.K Rowling to C.S. Lewis, from Mary Oliver to Bill Bryson, from Maya Angelou to Madeleine L’Engle.  Okay, I’ve also read lots of James Baldwin, Helene Hanff and Alice Thomas Ellis and I take credit for reading parts of “Ulysses” by James Joyce for a class. And if you went to school in the U.S. you’ve certainly read “Lord of the Flies”!

Well, maybe I won’t ever be as well read as I want, but I am having fun finding an eclectic bunch of books for my store.  This Sunday I couldn’t resist buying the classic “The Confessions of St. Augustine,”  a quirky 1960s best-seller about prostitution in France, a Jane Austin-esque romance by Georgette Heyer and “Larkspur and Candleford” which has been made into a PBS series.

book9-13.2

A good combo I think!

And the “Aesop, Five Centuries of Illustrated Fables” (1964) book was too fantastic to resist despite a damaged end paper. I’m loving re-reading these old fables again.

book9-13.1

What are you reading?

Leave a Reply

