A Beautiful Day for an Estate Sale

I haven’t been to an estate sale in months and felt in the mood to go. Was itching to go, really, so I choose one just 4 miles from my house run by my favorite estate sale crew.

It was an astonishingly beautiful morning and I headed out to the location at 7:35 a.m. for a 9:00 opening. I was #21 on the list. Not my best number, but since the house had plenty of rooms, I knew I would make it inside in the first round.

I brought a book to kill the time while waiting, but never needed it.  Instead I ended up talking to a guy named Jamie…for an hour!  Jamie, about my age, is from Portugal but has been living in the U.S. for the past four years. We talked about everything: wine, travel, faith, politics, lifestyles. These little connections always make the sales extra fun.

Just before 9:00, one of the crew got us all lined up by number and name and entrance into the house went without a hitch!  I didn’t end up buying any of the items I wanted from the preview photos…a bit too expensive to make any money reselling them. But once I decided not to buy those items, that left me free just to wander and see what I could find. Which is what I love.

I passed up the 5-record set of Bing Crosby’s Favorite Hawaiian Songs…which I rather regret because it seemed too ridiculous for words. (I mean, honestly, can you think of ONE Hawaiian song besides “Tiny Bubbles” and ANY that would be called your favorite?!)

In the end, I bought one old book, a brown milk jug and an outrageous women’s jacket made of orange and gold woven paisley material, circa late 1960s/early 1970s. The material was in super condition and I couldn’t resist.

When I got home, I thought “Is it just me, or is this something that Huggy Bear from ‘Starsky and Hutch’ would wear?” Yes, I think it is!! I bought a Huggy Bear coat! Can’t wait to pop this baby in my store.

All in all, a beautiful day for an estate sale.

 

 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

