New Clothes “Heebie-Jeebies”

I rarely go clothes shopping. If I need something I buy it online. (My favorite splurge shop is Peruvian Connection.)

But I’ve been needing to go bra shopping and finally broke down and went to the swank shopping center near our house. My other goal at the shopping center was to try and find a “party” top or jacket to pair with black pants to wear to my husband’s company holiday party coming up in less than two weeks. I was thinking something with beads or sequins or maybe in velvet or lace that, hopefully, wouldn’t make me look matronly. (My husband works with 20- and 30-somethings.)

I went to four stores–Macy’s, J. Crew, Neiman-Marcus, and Nordstrom’s–and came away empty handed. Everything I saw was poorly made, queerly cut (a beaded top with huge gaping armholes), cheap rubbish or scary expensive. A sweet sales girl at Nordstrom’s was doing her best to find tops for me. Bless her heart she handed me a silver mesh crop top. (Let’s just say my crop top days are behind me!) She also picked out a billowy top with a sequined neckline that made me look 30 pounds heavier. (Oh dear. No thank you!)

It was all so frustrating and weird and tiring.

When I got home, my husband astutely asked me, “So what are you going to wear to the party?”

Darned if I know! I may have to hit up some local consignment shops and vintage stores this week. I tell you the truth, all this new stuff gave me the HEEBIE-JEEBIES. Either everything felt and looked cheap…similar to this top. Just wrong.

cheap-top1

Or was strangely unappealing to me like this beaded designer top. (Guessing by the sale price, it’s not selling well.)

beaded-top1

It shouldn’t be this hard trying to find something to wear to a party! Where are all the classy, well-made, decently priced clothes?  Where are the new clothes that might last more than one season? I have lovely vintage jackets (40-70 years old) that still look fabulous.

So I am a tad frustrated, but in a world full of real problems, this is nothing. Silly really. Gosh, I don’t know why I brought it up. Okay, I’ll stop.

But if you have time to share, what’s favorite party outfit??

4 comments

  1. Trust me you are not alone. I feel overwhelmed when I go to the mall now. How difficult can it be to find ONE thing that doesn’t look like it was made for a 20-something or that doesn’t make you look WAY older than you are? You are right. Everything looks so cheap. I hope you find something just right for you. One of the Goodwill’s near me has all of their holiday “sparkly” stuff arranged in one place this time of year. That might be an option for you as well. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. you might try the shop in Los Altos, I think run by Goodwill–( that gold and black top you showed looked gorgeous, but the price seemed kind of high)—my other ‘go to’ is Ross dress for Less on Woodside Rd, but it is slim pickings for what you might want.
    Rosalie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

