Ready for 2016?

The other day I pulled out my new 2016 desk calendar (I’m old school) and realized I need to start writing in all my January commitments…but looking at the pristine, blank pages gave me pause.

calendar3

What do I want this year to look like? Do I have any goals?  Any dreams? (Do you?)

One of my dreams is to tackle a book-length writing project. I’ve been bouncing around several ideas (including writing a mystery book), playing with pages, but this coming year, 2016, is the year I want to get serious and stop piddling around! Maybe I need to block off “writing time” in this calendar. Make it a sacrosanct time. Hmmm.

Another dream, not surprisingly, is to take my little vintage business to “the next level.” That magical next level! I have a lot of things to do to grow it to the next level including getting a handle on the accounting piece, getting a better inventory storage system, and adding tons more listings. Perhaps I should block off “store time” in my calendar too! (Me thinks I’m on to something here!)

SIDEBAR: Thankfully sales continue to grow (albeit slowly), but it is encouraging. A validation. Take yesterday for example, this antique christening gown (in less than perfect condition) sold. I found this at an estate sale. It had been passed over by tons of other buyers, but despite its small condition issues, I knew it was a special piece. I am so glad someone else thinks so too!

gown

So as I think about 2016, I realize my dreams can come true if I make them a priority. No more just wishing and hoping. Schedule in the time and do the work. Now I feel ready for 2016!

quote2

How about you…what are your dreams for 2016?

2 comments

Leave a Reply

