Down, But Not Out…

I’ve been a bit under the weather this week with a cold so the best I’ve managed is little bursts of activity to get the “bare bones” done–washing the dishes, mailing a package, responding to emails, pulling a few weeds. Tiny things when I wasn’t curling up on the couch with a quilt and a movie.

But I am feeling much better and looking forward to being more active…or not. Sometimes I treasure these slower times.

While convalescing I did browse eBay for things to resell. I said “no” to some things based on the seller’s “No return” policy. (Sorry, but I’m not going down that road again.) And a listing for some antique earrings that spelled “genuine” as “guinine” put me off.

I did buy this decidedly odd, but cute Chinese brass bowl with a dog on the side. It’s small (3.5″ wide) and they think it may be an incense burner (actually they spelled it “insense”). This listing photos were not great (as evidenced below), but I think the item has potential. I have found similar sold ones on Worthpoint in the $29-$78 range and they seem to be from the Republic period (1912-1949). Can’t wait till it arrives.

dog-bowl-3-11

And I bought some antique filet lace trim that is 3.5″ wide. I keep buying this stuff because I have an idea that I’m going to sew on tiny beads or gems and create romantic choker necklaces to sell. (So flattering for the older neck!)

lace-3-11

Don’t know if I’ll ever do it, but I love buying all the pretty lace 🙂

Had to skip all the estate sales this week, but managed to bumble around Goodwill one morning for 15 minutes. Found a nice Haeger, made in USA, ceramic planter and a small 3″ tall hand-made ceramic vase (for myself).

little-brown-vase.jpg

Looking at this little brown vase you might be asking “why”? Why buy that?!! Well, for me this piece has an appealing, organic, timeless quality. It’s simple and earthy and could have been made thousands of years ago (not in 2002 as dated on the bottom). It also has a nice weight and feels good in your hand. And gosh for $1.74 I couldn’t resist. I see this on my mantel with some lavender sprigs and a rose or may be with a bit of trailing ivy.

Anyway, that’s my slow, recuperative week.

Hope yours was full of health, fun and good finds!

 

2 comments

  1. Glad you are up. I enjoy your postings so much. Keep them coming! I am too lazy to get out like I used to so I get vicarious pleasure out of your jaunts!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

