Turning Out to Be an Exciting Week

I tend to be a mellow person. Not super excitable. But I have to admit this week has been rather exhilarating in my little biz.

On Tuesday I popped into my local Goodwill on my way to buy plant mulch (not so exciting) and found a Waterford crystal mug (with the Waterford acid stamp on the bottom). This is the first time I’ve found Waterford at a thrift store. I’ve look it over (and over) checking for any damage, but find none. 🙂 They weren’t giving it away, but the price was fairly reasonable.

6-9-16h

I also found a HUGE (50″ by 50″) French silk shawl with fanciful horses. It is reminiscent of Hermes, though it isn’t, and thankfully it isn’t a knockoff. There is some fancy cursive lettering near the pair of scissors that might be the maker’s name, but I can’t quite figure out the letters. Ideas??

6-9-16c

Wednesday started with a trip to a thrift store about nine miles away. The building is run-down and shabby (and not in a chic way!), but well organized and jam packed. And I found some good bread-and-butter bits: artisan-made pottery napkin rings, a ’60s Pryex coffee pot with brass warmer and a granny-square baby blanket. (These blankets sell for me. My last one had a black background and was sold to someone in Hawaii. She wrote back that she loves it!)

6-9-16b

But my favorite find, hands down, is the ashtray and cigarette holder made of hand-carved wood in the shape of sneakers complete with laces! Finding something this quirky and fabulous and one-of-a-kind made me giddy.

6-9-16d

After I paid and left the store I sat in my car researching a few things and catching up on email. Turns out when of my repeat customers wanted to buy the Precimax watch I had just listed as a birthday gift for her 82-year-old mother. She asked if I could “overnight” it. You bet I could! (It’s now on the way to a new home. Thanks Maryanne!)

precimax-watch

Now before heading home I dropped in on a friend and former co-worker. She had an intriguing project for me. She works as an archivist for an order of nuns. A couple of the deceased nuns had some costume jewelry and as the pieces have no historical value for the archives would I be interested in buying them?? You bet I would!!

She let me take home a whole cardboard box full of bags and boxes of jewelry to sort through at my leisure.

6-9-16a

I love this kind of picking because it’s so fun and easy. I have plenty of time to examine items, research them, decide what I want to buy and set prices I’m willing to pay. The only fly in the ointment, one of the nuns had originally come from Poland, so any Polish items I find will have to be set aside to be returned to her family. Drat! There is a ton of amber (definitely a Polish thing) and some pendants still sport tags that say Gdansk.

6-9-16e

Nevertheless, I’m still excited about going through the box. I’ve done a super quick pass and started to set aside some of the pieces I like, including some of the amber pieces though I may not be able to buy them. Here’s a ladies Elgin pocketwatch with sterling silver case and a silver locket I like.

6-9-16g

The weirdest thing I found? I emptied a little brown envelope into my hands and found myself holding someone’s gold-capped teeth! Honestly I would sell these as an oddity, but I think the nuns would profit more by taking them to one of those places that buys gold.

6-9-16f

So for the rest of this week I’ll be working through the box and figuring out what I want to buy, what should be donated and what should return to the nun’s family. A fun project for sure.

Hope your week has been exciting too!

6 comments

Leave a Reply

