Feeling Emotional

It was an emotional weekend.

On Saturday I had an unexpected doctor’s appointment. Turns out I have vitreous detachment in one eye which is typically caused by…aging. Sigh! Then early Sunday morning (5:00 a.m. to be exact) my husband took my youngest daughter to the airport. She was heading back to her university for summer school. Won’t see her again for two months. 😦 And it was Father’s Day. Had a nice phone call with my 85-year-old dad, but it got me remembering all the good times and some not-so-good.

Now it’s Monday morning and my oldest daughter and husband have both headed off to work and I have the house to myself…which I rather love! But before I get started with all the things I need to get done today, I wanted to share some retro Goodwill finds.

Step back in time with me, if you will, to the 1960s. DIY activities for women were on the rise. And one in particular struck a chord with my mom, aunt and gram…painting ceramics.

You went to a studio filled with greenware pieces, chose what you wanted, smoothed down the seams, applied the glaze and picked it up after it was fired. It didn’t seem that exciting but I think it was the “gossip time” that made it fun.

I have two ceramic Christmas trees (that light up, thank you very much) from this craze that continued into the ‘80s (and has resurfaced in the last 10 years). My aunt was particularly keen on this activity and over time created a whole nativity set of very large pieces.

So when I was in Goodwill the other day and spotted this fun duck ashtray I had to pick it up. I flipped it over and saw “Pauline 65” etched in the bottom and smiled.

duck-ashtray

And then coincidentally the other thing I picked up, this crazy nut dish, was also done by Pauline, only this time in ’72! I felt like I knew this woman.
nuts

I’m guessing Pauline has died and her family is getting rid of her stuff. Not an easy task.

Well, I bought both pieces. They were too fabulous not to buy, but I have to admit it’s got me thinking about all the wonderful women in my life who are gone…my mom, aunt and gram. Oh boy, it’s going to be an emotional day!!

What tugs at your emotions??

4 comments

Leave a Reply

