Believe You Can Do It!

keepcalm

A few days ago I ran into a woman I hadn’t seen in months and she asked, “So how’s your ‘little hobby’ going? Making big bucks yet?!” She said it with a smirk on her face and followed it up with a little chuckle. (I guess the joke was supposed to be that I couldn’t be “making big bucks.”)

Now I don’t expect most people to understand what I’m doing, or why I left a good part-time job to devote more time to the vagaries of selling old things, but I was really surprised at her condescending attitude.

I think we’ve all experienced this. The few well-chosen words that are barbs. The tone. The gestures. The questions that are barely concealed criticisms/mockery of some choice we’ve made.

Ha, but instead of making me feel bad/stupid/loser-ish (as I’m guessing was her intent), I felt good!! Nine months ago when I quit my job, I believed I could do this and I am! I’m living one of my dreams…finding lovely vintage things and selling them.

As you can imagine, I didn’t spend much time talking with her. I wasn’t rude, but I don’t have time for people like this. You don’t either. Life is too short!

Now onto the good stuff.

A Few Finds

Don’t you love this intricately carved pencil cup? I’m guessing it was made in Africa or India based on the animals. There’s a nice weight to this honey-colored wood.

blog-7-5e

I might have a hard time selling this quirky Perry Ellis silk scarf in red and purple with English and Scottish toy soldiers because I love it! And so far I haven’t found another like it for sale online.

blog-7-5f

At my favorite dingy thrift store I found this 1930s wood snap shots photo album buried under tons of picture frames. Took me a few minutes to unearth it! It has polo players painted on the front and original pages inside. Other than a few light scratches, it’s in darn, good condition.

blog-7-5c

And who’s ever heard of the 1972 game “Jotto, Secret Word Game”?? Not me, that’s for sure, but I couldn’t resist buying this still sealed (!!) version.

blog-7-5b

Found these old beauties on eBay. They are German (Otto Feix) porcelain jewelry inserts. Jewelry makers would turn them into pins and such. The package still has a bit of its original cellophane wrapping.

blog-7-5g

So that’s a few of my recent finds. Hope it’s all happy hunting for you too!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

