Find of the Week: Crystal Whiskey Glasses

Been a bit under the weather so I haven’t gone anywhere in days. Still not 100% but I threw on some “real” clothes today and went to my local Goodwill just to get out of the house!!

Almost purchased a big, beautiful Passover Haggadah plate that looked like this. The one in Goodwill didn’t have the little dishes but was in excellent condition. Alas it was $20. Gosh..$20. I started doing research in the store and then stopped. Did I want to deal with storing and later shipping a 16″ china plate? Maybe not.  

haggadah-plate

(Later at home I did more research and found the one above had sold on eBay for $119 with free shipping. Yikes…maybe I should go back and get it!!)

What I decided to buy after 30 minutes of looking was a beautiful pair of crystal whiskey glasses. Crystal is mostly passé these days except for bar ware which has become popular again thanks to TV shows like “Mad Men.”

mad-men

The glasses I bought are intricately cut, heavy and have a nice “ping.” No maker’s mark that I can find so I’m scrambling trying to find out who made them and the name of the pattern. So far I’ve spent an hour researching this and no luck.

crystal-glasses

Besides whiskey I can see them being used for cocktails and wine or as parfait glasses or vases. To be honest, I am sorely tempted to use these! Wouldn’t even the humblest of wines seem better sipped from these glasses??

Okay, I had to try them out. I poured my humble Twisted Old Vine Zinfandel into one and it tasted fantastic. There is something very pleasing about a perfectly proportioned glass that fits in your hand just so. Yes, I could get used to these. 🙂

How about you…have a favorite glass for your libations??

2 comments

Leave a Reply

