This, Too, Shall Pass

So I was given the opportunity to take advantage of two free weeks of a fitness program described as “‘metabolic training,’ which combines bodyweight, cardio exercises, and free weights into fast-paced interval circuit training which stimulates muscle toning and fat loss.” As I’ve been a bit of a slug lately I decided to go for it. I’ve gone for three days now and I can say it’s an intensely good, challenging workout, but…OUCH! I am now sore all over. Physically knackered. And moving gingerly. (Lowering myself to the toilet is almost comical!)

I know this, too, shall pass, but I am so sore that it’s impinging on my thrifting! Yesterday I popped into a thrift store on my way to a lunch date and tried to squat down to look at items on the lower shelves. Searing pain. Yikes I stood back up again. After that I would look at an item on the bottom shelf and think “Is that squat worthy? Worth the pain?” I decided NO on many things!

Sadly after scouring the store for 40 minutes, I hardly found anything. My best (and first find) was a vintage chalkware Mary, Jesus and Joseph statue. Love the muted colors on this.

mjj-statue

I’ve had some success selling men’s ties and thought this vintage Perry Ellis tie was nice…and thankfully not four inches wide!

pe-tie

Then I bought something as an experiment. It’s not my kind of thing at all, but some people swear they do well selling things like this. It’s a sealed roll of a vinyl wall border in a country apple pattern. Kinda goofy. I don’t know. It’s from England from a company (Rosedale Wallcoverings) that was bought out in 2003 so it’s likely vintage. We’ll see if anyone wants it!

apples

Today, I’m going to give my body a chance to recuperate a little. Maybe just do some gentle yoga stretches later on. And definitely work on store stuff and listing more fun finds!

Happy hunting y’all!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

