Things with Asian Influence

Mostly I’ve staying at home trying to rest and recover from another cold, but we were out of milk and I had three bags (!!) of Etsy orders to take to the post office so I knew it was time to put on real clothes. I decided since I was going to be out running errands I might as well stop into Goodwill for a few minutes. (But of course!)

Glad I did! Found a set of five little vintage dishes (marked Cook’s Hotel & Restaurant Supply Co. Inc., New York, Jackson China) in a delightful Red Willow Chinese pattern. There is so much detail on these.

They are a little under 5″ diameter and would be the perfect size to hold oil and vinegar for dipping chunks of baguette. Or I could see them on a bar cart holding olives and lemon wedges. Or on a nightstand for rings. What do you think??

I put these in my basket without hesitation and went back to looking. Over in a corner, tucked away by the bathroom, they have racks of picture frames, some with small pieces of art. It’s not a popular area of the store, but I have find some nice things here in the past and that’s where I discovered these three needlepoint Japanese or Chinese robe/kimono pictures. They were all on different shelves a bit hidden, so I’m glad I took the time to root around. Aren’t they pretty?

They are approximately 13″ by 11.5″ and have been professionally framed in black lacquered wood frames. I’ll likely sell them as a set.

I did not look at clothes! In fact I am busy selecting the newer clothes I am going to sell to ThredUp. (Well, hopefully sell.) I am disappointed that these didn’t sell for me, but it’s time to let them go and move on to greener reselling pastures. Plus I am happiest when I sell things I am passionate about…which is old stuff! I am just not passionate about selling new clothes. Not my thing. Feels good to move on from this.

Well, I’m pooped. Think it’s time for a cup of tea and a nap. 🙂 Hope your week is going well and you’ve found great things!

8 comments

      1. Thanks, Karen. I really enjoy your site. I used to “shop” a lot but have gotten too lazy. So, I get vicarious pleasure from reading all you do. Feel as if we know each other. You are me, several years ago! Joyce

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

